Blue Sea Systems

Blue Sea MiniSwitch 5992 connections

Isolate a battery circuit with the terminal-mounted MiniSwitch 5992. Check the battery mounting hole, cable stud and 150 A continuous rating, then plan the connections around it.

Continuous rating
150 A
Maximum voltage
32 V DC
Intermittent rating
225 A · 5 minutes

Connection essentials

  • Mount on the battery

    The 3/8-inch mounting hole fits over a compatible battery terminal. There is no separate battery-to-switch cable; check terminal fit and clearance.

  • Use the cable stud

    The outgoing cable attaches to the separate 5/16-inch-18 stud. Its hardware differs from the mounting hole and the 6005’s two 3/8-inch-16 studs.

  • Keep protection separate

    150 A is a continuous contact rating, not a fuse size. Plan the actual circuit protection and current; the switch’s maximum rating is 32 V DC.

Connection overview

MiniSwitch 5992 connections.

The BATTERY connection bolts directly to the battery stud. The line labelled Direct terminal mount marks that contact, not an extra cable. CABLE feeds the separately protected load circuit; the return bypasses the switch.

Blue Sea MiniSwitch 5992 connection overview with 4 components: MiniSwitch 5992, 12 V House battery, DC cable protection, House DC circuits. 3 cable connections and 1 direct terminal mount. Crossings are not junctions.12 V House battery + to MiniSwitch 5992 BATTERY: Direct terminal mount. MiniSwitch 5992 CABLE to DC cable protection IN: Outgoing positive cable. DC cable protection OUT to House DC circuits +. 12 V House battery − to House DC circuits −12 V House battery + to MiniSwitch 5992 BATTERY: Direct terminal mountMiniSwitch 5992 CABLE to DC cable protection IN: Outgoing positive cableDC cable protection OUT to House DC circuits +12 V House battery − to House DC circuits −Blue Sea MiniSwitch 5992. The MiniSwitch mounts directly on a compatible battery terminal. The BATTERY connection is a mounting marker, not a cable; the CABLE stud feeds separately protected DC circuits. This schematic expands the mounting connection for readability and does not show physical clearances. Establish actual circuit demand and protection before sizing the outgoing cable; 150 A is the switch's continuous rating, not a load or fuse size. Connection overview only. Cable lengths are placeholders; use the complete manufacturer diagram to select conductors and protection. No automatic fuse or cable-size recommendation is supplied by this example.MiniSwitch 5992BATTERYCABLE12 V House battery. Connection overview only. Cable lengths are placeholders; use the complete manufacturer diagram to select conductors and protection. No automatic fuse or cable-size recommendation is supplied by this example.12 V House battery++−−DC cable protection. Select and locate the actual DC protection for the battery, outgoing conductor and circuit demand. This reference block does not specify a fuse rating, interrupt capacity or permitted distance from the battery.DC cable protectionININOUTOUTHouse DC circuits. Replace this reference with the actual distribution and loads. Their total current, starting demand and cable route must be established; no operating current is assumed.House DC circuits++−−Direct terminal mountOutgoing positive cable
Blue Sea MiniSwitch 5992 connection overview with 4 components: MiniSwitch 5992, 12 V House battery, DC cable protection, House DC circuits. 3 cable connections and 1 direct terminal mount. Crossings are not junctions.The MiniSwitch mounts directly on a compatible battery terminal. The BATTERY connection is a mounting marker, not a cable; the CABLE stud feeds separately protected DC circuits. This schematic expands the mounting connection for readability and does not show physical clearances. Establish actual circuit demand and protection before sizing the outgoing cable; 150 A is the switch's continuous rating, not a load or fuse size. Connection overview only. Cable lengths are placeholders; use the complete manufacturer diagram to select conductors and protection. No automatic fuse or cable-size recommendation is supplied by this example.
Edit connection overview

Installation notes

Before you install.

Open a question for model-specific guidance and sources.

Verified against the manufacturer's documentation (rev. 88380 MiniSwitch sales sheet, ©2026; official 5992 specifications and dimension drawings), checked 2026-10-14. Manufacturer documentation →

What does the MiniSwitch 5992 do?

The Blue Sea MiniSwitch 5992 provides manual ON/OFF isolation directly at a battery terminal. Its sales sheet describes storage and maintenance use on boats, RVs and auxiliary battery systems. Turning it OFF disconnects the circuit routed through it; it does not monitor battery voltage or automatically stop discharge. A fuse or correctly selected breaker still provides overcurrent protection.

Which ratings apply?

Blue Sea's 5992 specification gives 150 A continuous, 225 A for five minutes and 450 A starting, with 32 V maximum. Neither that page nor the sales sheet specifies a duration for 450 A. Do not treat the starting figure as a continuous limit or attach another model's 30-second rating to it.

The cable connection accepts up to 1/0 AWG (53 mm²). That is a connection limit, not an instruction to use that size in every installation. Size conductors and protection for the actual current, cable route and voltage drop; a 150 A switch rating does not automatically call for a 150 A fuse. Check starting demand separately where an engine is supplied through the switch.

How do BATTERY and CABLE connect?

The diagram's BATTERY connection represents the 3/8-inch mounting hole that fits over a positive or negative battery stud. CABLE represents the separate 5/16-inch-18 stainless-steel stud and serrated flange nut for the outgoing conductor. These are different interfaces; the mounting-hole diameter is not the cable-terminal size. The diagram illustrates positive-side isolation. A negative-side installation needs its own system review, including all other return paths.

Blue Sea lists 100 in-lb (11.3 N·m) recommended torque. Confirm the supplied instructions and battery manufacturer's limit for each connection; do not transfer that figure to the battery's own terminal hardware without checking.

Will it fit the battery compartment?

Use Blue Sea's side, top and vertical drawings to assess clearance for the housing, battery lid, cable lug and switch operation. The top drawing's inch and millimetre width values disagree; confirm tight clearances with Blue Sea or the actual part. Support the cable so it does not load the battery terminal. The sales sheet identifies an enclosed housing and IP65 rating; neither removes the need to keep conductive objects away from the battery connections.

How is it different from the 6005?

The 6005 m-Series keyed switch mounts separately on a surface or panel and uses two 3/8-inch-16 cable studs. Its instructions specify 300 A continuous, 500 A for five minutes, 900 A for 30 seconds and 48 V DC maximum, with 4/0 AWG cable per terminal to meet those ratings. Choose between them by mounting access, terminal fit and circuit duty; the similar names do not make them interchangeable.

What should be checked before switching OFF?

Shut down the loads and charging sources connected to the circuit before isolation. Check which essential circuits bypass the switch and which other sources can still energize the wiring. Verify isolation before maintenance. Blue Sea links a sales sheet and dimension drawings for the 5992, but no separate installation manual was available on its product page when checked; the sales sheet is not a complete installation procedure.

For a small distribution circuit, review the Blue Sea 5026 fuse block and its separate feeder and branch limits. Use the sizing methodology to evaluate the complete circuit, including battery protection and cable sizing.

Technical reference

Specifications and terminal map.

Check the model, ratings and connection points against your own unit before choosing installation hardware.

Catalog specification

Battery-terminal-mounted ON/OFF disconnect. 150 A continuous, 225 A for 5 minutes, 450 A starting (duration unspecified); 32 V DC maximum. The 3/8-inch battery mounting hole and 5/16-inch-18 cable stud serve different connections. Accepts cable up to 1/0 AWG (53 mm²); not a fuse.

Continuous rating
150 A
Maximum voltage
32 V DC
Intermittent rating
225 A · 5 minutes
Starting rating
450 A · duration not stated
Battery mounting hole
3/8 inch
Cable stud
5/16 inch-18
Compatible systems
12 V / 24 V

Terminal map

Catalog connection points, current direction and planning limits. Check the manufacturer's pinout and connector ratings before installation.

BATTERY

neutral · input

150 A

CABLE

neutral · output

150 A
Sources and sizing method

Equipment specifications. Model details, ratings and terminal roles come from the catalog. Check your unit’s label and current manufacturer documentation for its exact revision.

Connection overview. This diagram explains the connection arrangement; it does not calculate cable sizes or protection for the installation. Follow the manufacturer’s complete wiring and protection instructions.

Read how the sizing works

Next step

Plan your installation with MiniSwitch 5992.

Open the connection overview as a new project, or add this component to a diagram you already have.

Free for up to 10 equipment components, with no account needed. Cables, busbars and fuse hardware do not count toward the limit. Your drawing saves in this browser. File exports are included with Crimp Pro.